Meet the Governors

The Governors are responsible for the policies and running of the school.  The day to day organisation and administration of the school is delegated to the Headteacher.  The Full Governing Body meet at least twice a term.  Governors may form committees to consider a particular issue such as Headteacher Performance Management, Pay or Complaints and individual governors frequently visit the school.

The Governors’ work is largely unseen but is of great importance.  They are part of a vital series of checks and balances of which the system of education by local authority is built up.   They have general responsibility for the fabric of the school building.  They are responsible, in close consultation with the Headteacher, for the appointment of staff.  They have oversight of Special Educational Needs provision, take interest in the school’s curriculum development and may offer advice to the Headteacher.

Each member of the Governing Body serves for a fixed term.  Minutes of all Governors’ meetings are kept at school and, given reasonable notice, can be seen at the request of any parent.  Governors will be pleased to receive any views that the parents may have.

Click here for our Governance Statement, effective September 2023.


 Foundation  Governor                                   Mr Martin Ives - Chair of Governors

I am a recently retired teacher, headteacher and school chaplain, with nearly forty years’ experience in three schools in Berkshire, Suffolk and Oxfordshire. Having settled near Great Tey last July to be near my two grandsons, I joined the governing body at Christmas. I am passionate in my belief that a child’s school experience should be an enjoyable, enriching and enlightening one and I very much look forward to working with my fellow governors and Mrs Overton in enabling the delivery of a stimulating curriculum in a safe environment.

I am a member of the Parochial Church Council at Great Tey Church and serve as a foundation governor on the governing body.


Foundation Governor                      Revd Ian Scott-Thompson

Since Great Tey School is a Church school, and I am the Rector of Great Tey, I am automatically a Foundation Governor.  I grew up in London, Surrey and Hampshire, and trained as a scientist working with computers, electronics and lasers.  However, I also knew God was calling me to be a Vicar, which I have been for over forty years now, in six different places, and in some of those as a school Governor.  I have been in Marks Tey since 2010, and Great Tey since 2022.  I am married to Jane, and have two adult children.  My email is  Landline is 01206 215772  Mobile is 07434 507307

My areas of responsibility are RE and Collective Worship.


  Representing the Local Authority    Mrs Cathy Rayner 

When my two daughters started at Great Tey, I joined the PTA and soon after became a school governor. I had originally worked as a secondary school biology teacher after my degree and I have since worked on our farm, done primary level supply teaching and private tutoring, and done further qualifications and worked as a counsellor. My time at Great Tey has reinforced my strong belief in the value of a village primary school and I am delighted that my grandson now attends the school. I will continue to support the work of the school in providing a high standards in both the academic and wider aspects of educationwhile also striving to ensure it is a good and enjoyable working environment for all. 


Co-Opted Governor                         Mr Kelvin Blanchard - Vice Chair of Governors

I have been a Governor at the school since 2013. I am at present Vice Chairman with a responsibility of monitoring the teaching of Mathematics and Science at the school as well as managing the Headteacher’s Performance Management. I lived in the village of Great Tey between 1991 and 2015. Both my children attended the village Primary School and during their time had a very happy and fantastic learning experience which enabled them to be very successful in their later schooling and beyond. I have recently retired after 46 years as a secondary school teacher. I was Head of a Science Faculty in a large comprehensive school in Colchester for over twenty of these years and during this time was involved in delivering many major changes in the curriculum and methods of assessment as well as leading and managing a team of staff in the implementation of new methods of teaching and learning.


Parent Governor                         Mr Ben Wheeler

Parent Governor            Mr Ugo Simonelli

Co-Opted Governor                             Mr Graham Hodgkins

Co-Opted Governor                             Mr Gavin Copeman

Staff Governor                               Ms Martha Lambert



  Headteacher                      Mrs Lucy Overton

I joined Great Tey as Head teacher in September 2015 having spent the previous 14 years as the Deputy Head of two schools in Clacton.  I have thoroughly enjoyed getting to know the school and the village over the last two years -.  I now know the school to be one which is greatly loved, valued and supported both by parents and by the local community, and I hugely appreciate that support.  I feel passionately that, when it comes to the important decision of which school their child should attend, parents should have a wide choice of good schools available locally so that they can ensure their child attends a school in which they have full confidence.   I  see my time at Great Tey as a time in which I can help to build on the positive, nurturing environment that exists for all of our pupils, taking the school from strength to strength and working with parents, staff and the community to ensure the school is the best it can possibly be.


All our governors can be contacted through the school.

Please address your correspondence to the name of the governor at:

Great Tey Primary School

Chrismund Way

Great Tey




Governor who left in July 2017: Mrs Susan Wakeling

Governor who left in July 2018:  Mrs Helen Dow

Governor who left in 2020: Rev. John Richardson

Governors who left in 2021: Mr Matt Halls and Mrs Helen Langthorne

Governors who left in 2022: Mrs Carol Almond, Mrs Rachael Stone, Mrs Becca Frances and Mrs Carly Canning

Governors who left in 2023: Mr Chris Percival, Mr Trevor Pearce, Mrs Georgina King